AOV is considered a key metric by many online retailers, because the higher you can encourage AOV to be, the more income your store will get.
The basic calculation is: (Sum of Revenue Generated)/(# of Orders) = Average Order Value
As example, to calculate your store’s average order value, simply divide total revenue by the number of orders. To keep things simple, let’s say that in the month of September, your web store’s sales were $31,000 and you had a total of 1,000 orders. $31,000 divided by 1,000 = $31, so September’s monthly AOV was $31.
Calculating average order value in WooCommerce could not be easier, just:
- If you do not have WooReports installed, follow these instructions
- Go to Sales by Each Order report, Pivot Grid view
- Enable the Configurator by clicking the Configurator drop-down, select Right
- Takeout all fields, leaving just Order Id and Order Value in Values section of the Configurator
- Apply Average (Avg) as aggregate function on Order Value, by clicking on Order Value > Field Settings; feel free to rename the as you like, we’ve renamed it “Avg Order Val”
- Apply Count as aggregate function on Order Id, by clicking on Order Id > Field Settings; feel free to rename the as you like, we’ve renamed it “# Orders”
- Select what you other fields you want to see on Row and Column labels of the Configurator; in our screenshot, below, we’ve selected Month and Year